Fantastic Friday’s Feature: The Book Itself

Over the next few weeks I’ll be doing an intensive study of the book of Ecclesiastes. My first post on the subject can be found here, and the next few weeks will probably revolve around the insight I gain from this study. A friend of mine is doing the book of Romans. Our goal is to read through our chosen book of the Bible once each day in order to gain a richer understanding of the text. I chose Ecclesiastes because I didn’t understand it and thought I would like a challenge; my friend chose Romans because it is the basis of many key Biblical doctrines, particularly the Gospel.

Often, especially if you live in the good ol’ South like I do, people say they love the Bible. But the question is, do we really? Do we treat the Bible the same way we treat other things we love – foods, movies, people, etc.? The reason many people are deceived or led astray today is simply because we don’t read the Bible anymore.

So before I give you some things that have helped me, I want to share some passages that have helped me to see the importance of personal devotion to the word of God.

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge…” – Hosea 4:6

“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night.” – Psalm 1:1-2

“Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in thy word.” – Psalm 119:148

These verses always convict me; I mean, when was the last time I stayed up late into the night just to read and think about God’s word?

This world around us is always moving, from here to there, but without any purpose. We need to learn how to just sit, be still, and know that He is God. Jonathan Parnell recently had an excellent post about that on the Desiring God website. I encourage you to take the time to read it: http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/how-to-steady-yourself-in-the-age-of-compulsive-mobility

Perhaps you want to read through the whole Bible but don’t know how. Here’s a link to a plan suggested by John Piper. The great thing is, there are only 25 readings a month, so you get 4-6 free days to catch up or study other things. For me, getting behind in a plan was the most discouraging thing, so I would quickly stop. This helps balance that out. http://www.desiringgod.org/blog/posts/bible-reading-plans

Perhaps you think you don’t have time. In such a case, I hope you enjoy this poignant and humorously convicting video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vgMFXan9pjQ

Finally, you could join me and my friend in an intensive study of one book of the Bible. I would suggest Romans or, if you want something shorter and easier, the book of Ephesians. Whatever you choose, commit to reading it once a day for at least fifteen days. Try to notice patterns and similarities throughout. I can guarantee you’ll be blessed.

However you do it, I pray that you just read the Bible. Nothing is more important, because the Bible is what leads us to Jesus. It’s the only way we know who God is and what He desires of us.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Zak Ellison on April 21, 2012 - 1:14 pm

    Thanks for the post, Nik. I’m about to do the Mud Run and I wanted something encouraging to start my day – that hit the spot!

    Zak

    • #2 by Nik E. on April 22, 2012 - 2:50 am

      Hey thanks! Glad to know it!

Leave a Reply

