In Memory…

Recently a good friend of mine died. He wasn’t a young man and had enjoyed a long life in the Lord, but he has had a profound impact on me. His name was Mr. Smith, a retired missionary and pastor. In life, he was generous and kind, always desirous to speak about the things of the Lord. To me and my brother he gave us some of his old volumes of spiritual classics, something I’ll forever treasure. He said he prayed for me, that I was “on his list” of people he prayed for. Going to Mr. Smith’s house, you had to expect to be there for at least an hour or two, maybe more; but to me, those were hours well spent, discussing life, the Lord and everything in between.

He inspired me to be a greater man of God, saying that “we need more spiritually minded folk like you and your brother” and always exhorting me to “preach the Word, man.” Mr. Smith lived a life devoted to the Lord and I honor him today, knowing that he is with the Lord now, rejoicing in his heavenly body. I can’t wait to meet him again someday. I shall never forget the impact his life had on mine.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

