A Hard Question: Where do aborted babies go?

Well, I’ve been thinking about some hot-button issues lately, and I thought I would post some of my thoughts on the above question, which is typically a precursor to another hard question (but we’ll get to that later). I think it’s very important to think about these things and other issues biblically, but also honestly. After all, we’re to love the Lord with all of our minds; have we been good stewards of the powers and faculties He has given us? Remember, thinking logically doesn’t break down belief, and intelligence isn’t the opposite of faith.

According to some statistics I gleaned from David Platt, over 45 million abortions have occurred since 1973, and 1.4 million more occur every year. It is estimated that one third of American women have an abortion some time in their lives. So, I understand this is a tough topic, with weighty conclusions that we must come to.

When a child is aborted (or miscarried, for that matter), where does that child go? Heaven? Or Hell? The first thing to understand is that God intimately knows every child in the womb, according to Psalm 139 – “For You formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made” (ESV). Because of this, abortion is primarily a God issue; it is an affront to God’s sovereign authority as Creator.

That doesn’t answer the question at hand, though. I will say honestly, I do not know where these departed children end up. I have not seen in the Bible sufficient evidence to say “Yes” to Heaven or Hell, though I know which I hope for. There is the doctrine of the “age of accountability”, but I don’t know where that comes from, except for the Left Behind series, which is far from canon. However, I am thankful that I am not their Judge, and I have faith that “the Judge of all the earth [shall] do right” (Gen. 18:25). Knowing God is a God of mercy, I think that they shall be in Heaven.

I hope you see what this question can be, especially in the hands of an atheist. In the words of Admiral Ackbar, “It’s a trap!” Think about it: if you answer that aborted babies go to Hell, then they respond by saying, “I can’t believe that! How could a God of love and mercy do that to innocent children? I could never believe in a God like that!” If you answer that you believe they go to Heaven, their reply will be, “Well, why aren’t you pro-choice then? Isn’t it better that they get a free pass into Heaven than live and have the chance of going to Hell?” Now, you’re in a conundrum.

There are many things that could be said in response to the first question regarding Hell. However since I believe that they go do end up in Heaven, I want to answer the second contention, that it’s better for them to be aborted.

Don’t be put off by my immediate answer. Yes, I do think it would be better for them to be in Heaven if they are aborted. I am not, however, pro-choice; I am very much against abortion. The problem is, this question singles out the child, totally disregarding everyone else affected by abortion. It is certainly better for the child; but what about its mother? There are hundreds of stories of women who have had abortions that scarred them emotionally for the rest of their life, not considering the horribly botched abortions that have killed. What about the doctors and those assisting in the abortion? Some of them have come out horrified at what they have done. So yes, while it may seem at first that abortion is better for the child, you must consider the other parties involved.

Second, it doesn’t matter if the child ends up in heaven or not, because murder is murder. David Platt put it this way: “If the unborn is not human, no justification for abortion is necessary; if the unborn is human, no justification for abortion is adequate.” To put it in an analogy, let’s imagine a youth group with one hundred kids in it, all passionately singing their hearts out to Jesus. Right then, if they all died, let’s assume they would be in heaven. However, if statistics are true, up to ninety of these one hundred will fall away from the faith in college. So, let’s think about this: would it be just or good to bomb the youth group and send them all straight to heaven, sparing them from a future of disgrace? I don’t think so, because in doing so, I still would have just murdered one hundred children. That is never good or right. Murder is always evil, no matter the results.

I defend the unborn because I am a Christian. As a Christian, God says to me, “Defend the poor and fatherless: do justice to the afflicted and needy” (Psalm 82:3). It is my duty as a saint of God to rise up and fight for these precious lives. I believe every human is made in the image of God, and it is an abomination that that image is being destroyed even before it sees the light. If I would defend a man who is being mugged or a child being bullied, how much more should I speak out for those who have no voice? And the same goes for you, fellow Christian. Randy Alcorn says, “To endorse or even to be neutral about killing innocent children created in God’s image is unthinkable in Scriptures, was unthinkable to Christians in church history, and should be unthinkable to Christians today.”

In issues like these, we cannot afford to be neutral. Lives are at stake. I ask you, where do you stand?

My desire in posting this is not to create controversy, but to make you think. If I have done that, then I have succeeded. Come to your own conclusions based on the Word of God. I hope you have been blessed in reading this.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

